Leibster Award PART I

liebster-award

The wonderfully MAD females over at We’re All Mad Here recently nominated me for the Liebster Award. Much appreciation going your way ladies.

For those of you who have no idea what the Liebster Award is, don’t fret. You’re in good company. I had no idea either. I just thanked my nominators (nominators doesn’t seem like it should be a real word) and filed the thought away until I could research it further.

After a bit of digging online I found that the Liebster Award is a chain mail type of acknowledgement from fellow bloggers. It’s meant to promote the blogger sending the award, the blogger receiving the award & the bloggers yet to be nominated for the award. One person whose blog had been nominated over five times decided to track down the origins. The earliest recipient she could find was from 2010. That means that this piece of charm has been roaming around the web for at least three years. Pretty impressive, I must say. As Newton said, “An object in motion tends to stay in motion.” Who am I to stop this speeding locomotive? Granted, an online chain mail award isn’t a REAL object (or locomotive) but when I saw the comment from the Red Queen at We’re All Mad Here, if felt real. In fact, it felt REALLY NICE.

So, I’m going to follow the rules of acceptance set forth by the Queen and do my part.

Here’s what she said:

The Liebster Award is a way to help blogs with under 200 followers gain attention and expand their audience.

Rules:

  • Link back the blogger that tagged you.
  • Answer the questions of the one who tagged you.
  • Nominate 10 others and ask 10 questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  • Let you nominees know of their award.

Yes, this does seem like a LOT of work. It reminds me of Junior High (okay, I’m old enough that we called it Junior High instead of Middle School) when kids would pass out chain mail letters. These would say that you had to write out the letter five time and pass them along or a tree might fall on you. I was always torn between wanting to be included in the game and dreading having to write out the page over and over and over and over and over…free hand. 

Since I’m lazy, I will tackle two parts of this today and save the rest for another moment.  “Why do today what you can put off as long as you possibly can (That’s the correct quote, right?)?” The parts I choose today are: Link back to the blogger (SEE ABOVE) and Answer the questions of the one who tagged you (SEE BELOW).

Here are the questions asked of me along with my answers: 

1. Why in the world did you start blogging? I’m a writer, so I write. This was just a way to let me explore my thoughts and find some people willing to listen.

2. Are you a part of any fandoms? I had to look up what was meant by “fandoms” since I figured it didn’t mean you just like certain types of music or a football team. So, I guess the answer is no.

3. What is your favorite genre? In books currently, YA Fantasy

4. Do you judge books based on their covers? Of course. Who EVER came up with that saying must have lived when books were just bound together pages. If we weren’t supposed to judge them by their covers the covers wouldn’t be so easy to JUDGE.

5. What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever done? I plead the 5th amendment.

6. What advice do you have for someone who wants to start a book blog? I’m afraid book reviews can be corrupt. It’s not the worst thing in the world, but being paid to say you love a book just seems wrong. Also, giving bad reviews because someone won’t pay you is just as wrong. With book reviews, there’s a chance someone could accuse you of being dishonest. Book bloggers who do reviews should really have a posted policy outlining how they do their reviews and under what circumstances free books are accepted. That’s why I only provide book recommendations. The books I submit are books I truly have read that I really enjoy. I’ll never post a book that I’m not 100% behind.

7. What book made you love reading? Anything by Judy Blume, but especially Tales Of A Fourth Grade Nothing.

8. What’s your favorite series/book? Easy. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

9. Would you rather never be able to read again or never be able to talk again? I’d guess I’d give up reading because I’m not one who can be shut up.

10. If you were stranded on a desert island and could only bring one thing what would it be? I would bring a boat. : )

Categories: Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Leibster Award PART I

  1. Pingback: An award? For me!? Accepting the Leibster Award!!! | The Domestication of the Running Rose

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.