NaNoWriMo…Here We Go!

NaNoWriMo CrestAfter much deliberation and hand wringing (I guess people still wring their hands when they’re nervous, right? Or is that something straight out of the fifties?), I have decided to embark on NaNoWriMo. For those of you who are not in the know (don’t worry if this is you, I just found out about it a few months ago), NaNoWriMo is a sort of movement amongst writers. The acronym stands for NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth. This happens to be November. According to the NaNoWriMo website (http://nanowrimo.org) there are 218,874 would be novelist writing their hearts out right this minute (well, maybe not this minute….I should say right this day).

The idea is to crank out a 50,000 word novel in the 30 days of the month.  Now, I know what you’re thinking. How can anyone possibly write anything worth reading in just 30 days. Well the truth of it is you probably can’t, but you can come up with a decent rough draft that could be made into something special. I just read a pep talk article written by Rainbow Rowell the other day. It turns out her hugely popular new book Fangirl (which I just got done reading last weekend) was started as a NaNoWriMo project. This gives me hope and inspiration. It also makes me feel like I have some miniscule part in something bigger than myself…even bigger than my novel. I’m possibly working right along side, virtual elbow to virtual elbow, with some of the greatest writers alive today.

The novel I plan on drafting is the second book in a YA trilogy I’m writing. For the past few weeks I’ve been mapping out the story and laying down a hard outline on some paper. My fingers have been itching to get started typing, but I forced myself to wait for the official beginning of NaNoWriMo. So this morning I woke up at 4:30 to start my journey. If you break up the 50,000 into 30 segments you get about 1,667 words needed a day to complete the task.  My goal is to write 2,000 words a day.  By 6:30 I had already written 2,117 words and was able to go back to bed for an hour.  It felt pretty good (getting my word count AND going back to sleep).

I’m writing this blog now, instead of working on my novel, because I wanted to say that I will be mostly away for the month. I won’t be gone from home or away from the computer, but I will not be composing any blogs.  I want my brain focused on the 50,000 word prize.  I do plan to keep you posted on how this whole thing is going, but likely I’ll be giving you my word count. You can also keep track of my month by watching the little blue boxes on the right. They are linked right to my NaNo page.

Wish me luck and lots of plot twists!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.