NaNoWriMo Update & IWSG Day

NaNoWriMo CrestInsecureWritersSupportGroupToday happens to be the sixth day of NaNoWriMo AND the first Wednesday of the month. That makes it IWSG Post day too!

NaNoWriMo Word Count today is: 13,011

My daily Word Count is: 2,017

Let me start by saying today’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group is being hosted by: CD Coffelt, Tina Downey, Isis Rushdan, and Michelle Wallace! Thank you all for you effort for the group.

The purpose of the IWSG is: “To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!”

After you’ve read my post, please Click here  to “hop” to another blog on the list to support and share with others.

___________________________________________

Until this morning I was not feeling a bit insecure about my progress on NaNoWriMo. Everyday I have been well above my personal goal of 2,000 words a day. Last night before I went to bed I briefly wrote out my outline for the chapter I was working on today.

My issue is not about having time to write. Setting my alarm for 4:30 in the morning seems to be working well for me. I jump out of bed to the cold house, write for two hours and then hop back under the warm covers for another 60 minutes of blissful sleep. It is my reward for getting my word count out-of-the-way early.

My concern is that my story will end before I reach the 50,000 words. Let me say, it is not a REAL worry, just something I am pondering in the back of my head.

I am wondering if any of you who have done NaNoWriMo have had the same sort of “pondering” happen to you? 

If you are doing NaNoWriMo right now…don’t feel like you need to respond. Get back to work! You only have 24 days left until November ends.

Do add me as a writing buddy though…my NaNoWriMo user name is READ FACED

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update & IWSG Day

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo and IWSG-Perfect Together! | lilicasplace

  2. I could never wake up that early to write for two hours and then hope back into bed for an extra hour of sleep. I’d end up sleeping the rest of the day! I’ve never done NaNoWriMo, but maybe I won’t be good at it for that fact alone. lol If your story ends before 50,000 that is still a great achievement. You may not be meeting the goal of NaNo, but you will still have a finished story. 🙂

  3. I’ve never done nano, but your thought has crossed my mind. Books come in all shapes and sizes. How does one know they can write 50k for a novel, before it even gets written?

  4. I actually had that happen to me once. I ended at 48K, but that was still a win to me! I wrote a freaking book in a month. Pat yourself on the back!

  5. Pingback: Should my character … | Jaye Em Edgecliff

  6. Wow, I thought I was doing something impressive getting up 6am to do a little writing before starting my day, but 4:30. I’m totally impressed.
    I’m not doing NaNao, but I understand your issue. I’ve participated in writing contests with word mins and maxes and have worried about making the min mark with whatever story I was writing at the time. If I finish a story and feel it’s too short, I go back and see if I can develop more. I look at the following, in this order: character development, dialog, setting, transitions, and then general details…Thanks for sharing.

  7. Well done on the routine, I’m sure you’ll come across some piece of inspo to booster your story if worst comes to worst 🙂

  8. Also love your header graphics 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.