NaNoWriMo Update: Beginning of Week 2 (AKA Day 8)

NaNoWriMo CrestToday marks the beginning of the second week of the National Novel Writing Month challenge of writing a 50,000 word rough draft of a novel in just thirty days.

Here are my stats at this point in the game:

Your Average Per Day: 2,156
Words Written Today: 2,152
Target Word Count: 50,000
Target Average Words Per Day: 1,667
Total Words Written: 17,253
Words Remaining: 32,747
Current Day: 8
Days Remaining: 23
At This Rate You Will Finish On: November 24, 2013
Words Per Day To Finish On Time: 1,424

These totals were pasted directly from my NaNoWriMo website Stats page.

I have become a bit obsessed with this information.

The first thing I do in the morning once I have reached the office is to log in and upload the current word count of the novel I am writing.

Then I immediately go check out my Writing Buddy’s page (add me as at http://nanowrimo.org/participants/read-faced/) to see how the folks there are chugging along (most are doing way better than me).

After that I study my stats and keep telling myself I can keep up this pace, before sharing the details with you here.

The wonderful thing about the stats page is it really keeps me focused on the prize. I do not even have to do math to figure out my totals and what I need to accomplish. The bad thing about the page is it makes me fixated on the numbers. The window is constantly open on my computer and my eyes drift back to it throughout the day.

I am beginning to wonder how I am going to write AFTER November. How will I stand not having the numbers at my fingertips?

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.