NaNoWriMo Update: Day 12

NaNoWriMo CrestToday was the second day of this NaNo journey that I actually counted every word as I wrote. It was like pulling a hair from my head to get a thought onto the computer. I would type a bit and then check my word count. Blather on some before seeing how close I was to my 2,000 word goal. There would be a sparkling moment in there every now and then when something would click, but not that often. My bed was calling to me louder than any inspiration I might find.

But as I write this now I still feel like a real writer. I am not worried that I will quit the NaNoWriMo challenge. There is no way I am going to let myself lose.

Writing novels is not about muses and sunny inspiration. It is about sitting there at the computer or notepad day after day and getting the words out. Even on the days they just do not want to come.

Being a novelist takes discipline. If I want to share my stories with the world I have to do the work. I can not just write on the days that the story screams at me. I have to also write when I am not even hearing a whisper.

I am not sure if what I wrote this morning makes sense. Mostly it was dialogue with a few flashbacks from other events. Likely it will be axed when I go to do revisions, but maybe not. Maybe those few sparkles I mentioned before will be enough to build on when the rough draft is done. It really does not matter though. The point is that I get the rough draft finished. These fumbling words are going to help me get there.

From 4:30 to 6:45 this morning I typed away at my computer. When I realized I had hit the 2,000 word mark, I stopped. Then I rushed back to my warm bed for an hour. That was my reward for doing the work. It was the carrot dangling before my nose.

Thank you NaNoWriMo for inspiring me when I am not finding my own inspiration. Thank you for reminding me what sort of discipline I should always be striving for in my writing. This journey I am on is exciting, even when it is not. I am so proud of myself and all of us who are daring to try.

Today’s Word Count: 2,054

Total Word Count: 27,474

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.