NaNoWriMo Update: Day 18

NaNoWriMo CrestIt is day 18 of the NaNoWriMo 50,000 Word Novel Writing Challenge and two big things have happened.

1) I have crossed the 40,000 mile word marker. I think I can see the finish line just ahead, though I know for sure it will not be the end of my novel. This sucker is planning on taking me for a rough (draft) ride through December.

2) My daughter has announced that she does not want me to tell her my word count anymore.  She says it is all I want to talk about. I know she is right. I am living my novel right now (not literally…I mean it is set in the future and dragons exist).

To her it is sort of like constantly hearing that I have a headache or when I can not stop coughing after a cold. At first she is happy to offer support, but as the time drags on the support gradually becomes boredom.  Followed soon by the dreaded eye roll.

I am trying to keep my enthusiasm in check. She wants to hear about the milestones, not the baby steps.

I fear that all of you wonderful souls out there that read my words each day are also starting to roll your eyes. Sorry if that is the case. Not to worry. The month is soon over. I plan to have my 50,000 words by Saturday November 23. Wish me luck.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update: Day 18

  1. I for one welcome the baby steps. Keep them coming! I’m the same way. I keep bragging about my latest word count and how amazing a scene panned out, phew. I’m sure I lost a few ears but hey, that isn’t taking away my pride. Congrats on that 40k milestone.

    • Thank you for that. I am enjoying the baby steps myself. Everyday I write I am learning so much about my characters (it seems like my supporting cast have a better sense of humor than my protagonist), my pace (2,000 words is a good round number and it fits so well in two hours) and myself (it turns out I am much more creative at 4:30 am). Take care!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.