First Snow Day and Writing

snow dayToday we had our first real bit of snow of the season here in the northeast. There have been a couple of days where flakes fell from the sky before now, but nothing “stuck” until today. All told I would say it totaled a couple or so inches.

The weather people on the TV said it was going to start sometime around 7:00 in the morning and spend a good deal of the day turning everything white. That it did. Lovely, cool and pure.

I was trudging through the house at 5:30 this morning because I am a hair’s width away from finishing my novel that was started during NaNoWriMo. I should have had it done yesterday morning, but for some reason the alarm did not go off when I thought it would. There was only time to stuff my face with raisin bran and then sprint out the door to make it to the office before the mailman.

My work in progress is the second in a YA trilogy I’m writing. I have to say it is a real pleasure creating this one. It must be because I rushed through the rough draft during November that I am still in love with this story. There was no time to go back and question what I had written. I just pointed my finger forward and marched.

The first book is still in major revisions and that rough draft took me a whole year to write. It has the exact same characters and simply continues the story, but I am in a romance with this one that I did not feel for the first. I have to say though that I can’t wait to wrap the sequel’s rough draft so I can sink my hands back into its predecessor. I have to find the romance there too.

So, like I said before I got sidetracked to describe my writing saga, I was trudging through the house at 5:30 when my husband yells out that we need to leave the house at 6:30 to be ahead of the storm. When it comes to weather he is a “better safe than sorry” sort of person. You have no idea how many nights I have spent in the basement because it was winding outside.

I wanted to argue that this was not going to be a major storm, but it is hard to disagree with someone who has your best interest at heart. So, I roused the girl and gulped down some more raisin bran. We made it the office just before the snow started.

Finishing the novel this morning didn’t happen. Again. Work takes precedent.  My new plan is to tuck that story into bed early tomorrow morning. I am giggly just thinking about it. Wish me luck and that we are done with the snow for a while.

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.