Fortune Cookies & IWSG

InsecureWritersSupportGroupThis month’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group is being hosted as always by Alex J. Cavanaugh. His co-hosts this month are Bob Milne, River Fairchild, Julie Dao, and Sarah Foster!  Thank you all for your effort.

Once you’ve read my post, please Click here  to “hop” to another blog on the list to support and share with others.

After a recent dinner at our favorite Chinese food restaurant, I got the following message in a fortune cookie.

youth-cookies-500
Being told to keep true to the dreams of my youth got me thinking about the aspirations I had when I was younger. I can distinctly remember wanting to grow up to be three things: a teacher, a mom and Miss America.

Most of my adult life has been spent as a teacher, first in Environmental Education and then in a public school classroom. For me, teaching is one of the greatest things I have ever done. I am proud of what I accomplished there.

I have been a mom for more than a decade now. A moment ago I wrote that teaching is one of my greats…well, motherhood is my greatest. The person I am raising makes me delighted, worn out and in awe every day. Plus I get to marry the role of teacher with mom as I homeschool my girl.

As for Miss America…like Meatloaf says, “Two out of three ain’t bad.” I can’t remember exactly what put that notion into my head. I don’t even remembering watching the pageants on TV. I think it had something to do with a Miss America doll I was given once. I’ll just say I have never regretted not wearing that crown and sash.

Wanting to be a published writer came later than my childhood. The love of reading bloomed the year my mom bought me a boxed set of Judy Blume books for Christmas. For months you could find me holed up in my room poring over those stories. I was sure Mom had no idea what was in the books she had so innocently handed me. They spoke on subjects that I didn’t know people besides me were feeling. Blubber and Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret changed my life. They made me see that the written word has power.

Writing followed the reading (isn’t that always the way?). In my youth I just didn’t think I had the patience, the ability or the intelligence to even hope I could be a “real” writer. I let life lead me in other directions. And the truth is that I may never be published (keeping my fingers crossed), but I am a “real” writer. Now I can’t image having another dream.

Because it is the new year and you lot at the IWSG have been so nice to me, my RESOLUTION is to visit every single blog on the the linky list. I know others do this each month. Alex J. Cavanaugh himself is so diligent I have no idea how he finds time to write his books.

Since joining the group this past  October I only seem to make it to a handful or so other blogs. But not this time. This time I will visit and comment on every blog that posts (still have my fingers crossed from earlier). Today that is 317 blogs. Please know that I will not be able to finish in one day (geez, I have a dentist appointment this Wednesday), but I will get it done.

Thanks for stopping by and your comments!

Leanne

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 69 Comments

Post navigation

69 thoughts on “Fortune Cookies & IWSG

Comment navigation

  1. What an awesome resolution!

    And two out of three definitely aren’t bad! Good luck with your goals!

  2. It’s only in the last few years that I’ve known what I want to do, so I hope it’s Ok if I hold onto the dreams of my midlle age, instead of the ones from my youth?

  3. Hey, well you made it to my blog, that’s all that matters 😉 HA! Kidding of course. Great blog you have here, from one teacher/mother/writer to another. Too funny you mentioned Meatloaf. Haven’t thought of him in years, and I just quoted him (well, my character did) in a character interview I was preparing for my blog tour! Maybe a sign we should be friends 🙂 Pleasure to “meet” you!

  4. Holy mackerel, that is an excellent resolution. I’m going to make that one too one of these months. It is lovely to feel connected to the community–thanks for bringing me in by reaching out. 🙂

  5. Aloha Leanne,

    Thanks for stopping by and GOOD LUCK with your resolution… I know I’m #55 or something like that, so you are well on your way – if you’re going numerically 🙂

    I agree: Two out of three ain’t bad at all and *you* get my HERO bow, because having tried and miserably failed to homeschool our then-kindergartener, I admire you for bringing your work home with you every day 🙂 Your daughter is lucky to have you 🙂

  6. Yes, we are real writers, whether published or unpublished.

    That is awesome that you’re visiting everyone on the list. I’d like to do that. I only touch the surface visiting some blogs when I don’t want to miss out on the posts. IWSG posts help me reach out to other writers and see that we’re sharing many things on the writing front.

  7. Reading every blog on the IWSG list is awesome. You ARE Ms. America. Thanks for stopping by mine. 🙂

  8. I can’t say I saw myself in my career when I was young, but I’ve never been one to look to the future 😉 I did want to be a writer since I was four years old, pretty proud I’m actually following that, even if tentatively. What a wicked fortune cookie!

  9. Love this fortune and resolution!

    I’m so glad to meet you through the IWSG, thanks for coming by my blog. Looking forward to following here and also on Twitter. 🙂

  10. I admire you for going to each of those posts in the linky. As a rare blood courier, I have so little free time as to be non-eixistent! I was once a teacher, then a counselor — life is strange in its twists and turns. I wish you the best year yet in becoming all you wish to be. 🙂

  11. What a great resolution. I never get to everyone so I try to make sure I visit some blogs each month that I didn’t get to the previous month. Being a mom is a wonderful, difficult, fulfilling, challenging job. Enjoy

  12. Thanks for visiting my blog!
    For me, writing also followed the reading… but many, many, many years after the reading… not divulging how many… 🙂
    Nice to meet you!
    Good luck as you make your way around BlogLand!
    Writer In Transit

  13. I just finished the entire Blog Hop. My method was to start at the back and work my way forward. That way I ended with Alex.

    It was exhausting (took me 7 days), but so rewarding. Thank you all for the support and encouragement. Also thank you for making me see how alike we all really are in our insecurities. Though we write alone, we aren’t really alone.

  14. Yes, you are a writer! And WOW! All the posts. Good on you!!!

  15. As a former educator, I just want to say that teaching is one of the most rewarding professions out there, and I think it’s wonderful that you’d devoted a part of your life to this fruitful endeavor. And how wonderful it is that you get to use the skills you acquired as a teacher to enrich your child’s home education.

  16. Lady! I totally responded last week and my comment disappeared into the virtual abyss. Yikes! Well, I think it’s adorable that you wanted to be Miss America.

    Home schoolers rock! Here’s to taking education by the horns and doing the very best thing for your kids. My three are a handful, but it’s such a blessing working with them every day too.

  17. Hi Leanne – thanks for visiting me (and wow visiting all of them is very impressive).
    I think you picked the right two out of three to focus on – maybe you could write yourself into a story about Miss America and get the third sorted that way.
    Do you think you’d consider self-publishing?

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.