All I Want for 2014: Post 1 of 6 Blog Hop for Writers

This post is the first of a series of six blogs that I’ll write as a participant in the Blog Hop for Writers started by Ruth Snyder. You can join too by clicking the image below, adding your name to the list, writing about the topics referenced and linking your blog to the listings. It sounds like a good way to share the writing bug and meet others who have the same infection inclination.

blog-hop-for-writers

The first topic of the six on the Blog Hop is “My Personal Writing Goals for 2014.”

Hmmm. That one is sort of tricky for me. At the end of 2013 I promised myself (and you lot out there) that I wasn’t going to set any resolutions for the New Year. It only ever leads to disappointment when I fall short of my aspirations.

That being said, I do of course have long-term writing goals that I likely will not be able to finish by the twelve month mark (especially since this first month is almost toast). In my grand dream of writing I want to become an agent represented published young adult novel author.  Oh, I should throw in best-selling too. That’s not much to ask, is it? I mean, that sounds doable. Piece of cake, right?

HA!

Sarcasm aside, I know that I am not going to have a publishing genie come around and “POUF” me into being where I want to be by the time 2015 rolls around. I have to keep doing the work just like everyone else (no matter that my neighbor’s son works for the uncle of the boyfriend whose sister is an honest to goodness New York Publishing House editor’s assistant-in-training. I’m not one who’d exploit my connections *wink*).

What I feel I can accomplish this year is to get a handle on the two MS that I have in rough draft right now. I would also like to find some critique partners who I can really trust. There is also another novel swimming furiously around in my brain, so I’ll have to write that soon or it’s likely to give me whiplash. Finally, when I know that the first of those two previously mentioned MS is truly ready, I want to start querying. Not one minute before.

I hope those goals aren’t so lofty that I will feel like a failure if something gets muddled. I will say it again, I don’t like resolutions. The word even sounds pretentious (so does the word pretentious). This is not a race to December 31. This is a leisurely stroll through the wonders of writing a book. So just sit back and watch me saunter all over those goals!

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “All I Want for 2014: Post 1 of 6 Blog Hop for Writers

  1. I dunno, I think your goals sound pretty good. I have similar ones 😉 But yes, dreams aside for the moment, the writing is the key. That’s what I’m settling down to now, too.

  2. I believe one of the things people recommend is making your goals/resolutions/challenges something you can control. You can control the work you do on your mss. You can’t control what happens out in the publishing world. I think yours sound good. 🙂

  3. Good luck on your goals!

  4. Love your sense of humour…and now that I know you and have such a close link to an editor??? (wink, ; ) wink!;)
    Brenda J Wood

  5. nudge, nudge.

  6. I really like your description of this process as “a leisurely stroll through the wonders of writing a book.” Like raising children, it’s so important to embrace and enjoy every part of the experience, not spend so much time wishing you were further ahead that you miss out on the beauty of the journey. Best wishes as you work toward your goals in 2014 – may you experience joy every step of the way!

    • Sara, It is so funny you say that because just this morning I was wishing I could get my book done by April so I could enter it into a contest. Your comment was just the thing to put me back on my true path. I appreciate it more than you know!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.