My Hero: Post 3 of 6 Blog Hop for Writers

This post is the third of a series of six blogs that I’ll write as a participant in the Blog Hop for Writers started by Ruth Snyder. Once you read my post you should “HOP” on over to see what the other writers have to say.

blog-hop-for-writers

The third topic of the six on the Blog Hop is “Character Sketch of My Hero.”

I assume since this is a blog hop for writers that I am not supposed to write a fifth grade essay on the person I most look up to in my life. By hero, we are talking protagonists. The main character. The lead of a story. The person (or thing) that learns something by the end of the book.

What I write and read is young adult fiction. That means my main character is always a teen. She (because I tend to like the female view-point) is usually tough, but in a soft way, with attitude covering up some insecurity. A walking oxymoron.  These are the sort of heroines I like.

My current work in progress is a bit different. The girl in this one is afraid. She is afraid of the dark, boys, being alone and even of not being afraid. The hitch is that she’s content staying this way. If it weren’t forced upon her, she would never dream of facing her fears. She does brave things only because there is no choice. It is either move or get trampled.

What I like so much about this protagonist is her great capacity to love. She feels deeply. Deeper than the strongest of her fears. So much so that she’d be willing to run in the dark, by herself with a knife wielding guy in pursuit to the ends of the earth if that would save her sister.

Another thing I love exploring is how underestimated the other characters find her. One boy who’s taunted the girl since childhood calls her Little Mouse because she is small, wears glasses and he thinks her timid. This heroine knows the truth. She is capable of anything. It is only wariness that holds her back. If she chooses to conquer what makes her afraid, everything else will come easily.

Thanks for taking time to learn a bit about my heroine.  I don’t like to give out names until the story is finished because I work so hard to make them fit my characters, plus they often change.  But I would be happy to call her Little Mouse for now, even though in my MS it is meant as a put down. I think of her as the little mouse in Aesop’s Fable: The Lion & The Mouse. In that story the mouse chews through rope to rescue the lion. So, sometimes a little mouse really can be a hero(ine).

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “My Hero: Post 3 of 6 Blog Hop for Writers

  1. Leanne, thanks for sharing a bit about your protagonist. I liked the comparison you made at the very end between this “little mouse” and Aesop’s Fable. I can tell she’s going to conquer many things in her life 🙂

  2. Little Mouse sounds like a fascinating girl! I like the connection to Aesop’s Fable. Thanks for sharing and happy writing! 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing your hero with us, Leanne. Little Mouse is just the type of heroine I enjoy reading and writing about as well. Best wishes as you finish her story!

    • She is a new adventure for me. I am used to creating the sort of girl who plans to conquer the world…not one forced into it. Thanks for your comment Sara.

  4. Sounds like this “little mouse” will do great things. And definitely some conflict going on here, when she wants to stay in her current imperfect state (don’t we all, if we’re not pushed hard enough?)

  5. little mouse sounds like a pretty believable teen. most kids don’t grow up fully confident and knowing they can conquer things, and a lot of times it’s having life thrown in your face that teaches you to handle it. 🙂 good luck with your story. she sounds like a good heroine.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.