Writing is a Dream

This post is the last of a series of six blogs that I’ll write as a participant in the Blog Hop for Writers started by Ruth Snyder. Once you read my post you should “HOP” on over to see what the other writers have to say.

The sixth and final topic on the Blog Hop is “My Current Work-in-Progress”

dream-notebook

One of my waking dreams is to become a full published author.

Like everyone else, I have the traditional form of dreams too. The kind that happen when I’m not awake.

Most of the stuff that comes out of my sleep addled head is pure drivel. I always seem to be looking for a bathroom (big repeat dream theme) or doing something inane like complimenting a stranger on their red house door because it means breakfast (don’t ask me from where that one came). The other morning I woke up mad at my husband because I thought he was stealing pillows from some man’s hatchback.

See? Utter nonsense.

But that doesn’t keep me from having a notebook stored right beside my bed. Every now and then a good one will come along. If I don’t write it down immediately, it’s lost to the minutia of my waking life.

To be honest, the good ones seem to come around when I am in between writing projects.

My current work in progress is one of these good ones, or at least I think so.

It’s a Young Adult Fantasy Adventure story set in a different era. There are imaginary beasts and good witches, but the story really follows an eighteen year old girl as she’s forced to leave her home to she prove she’s worthy of living there. Instead of doing what is expected of her and what she really wishes, the girl goes off on a quest to find her missing sister.

There is danger and romance and surprises and magic but above all, because it is a Young Adult book, there is growth. This story is about the character doing what she didn’t know she could or wanted to do because it’s what’s right.

I’m so enjoying writing it and I’m thankful for my dreams that come to me awake and asleep. Even the nonsense ones.

blog-hop-for-writers

I want to say a big THANK YOU to Ruth L. Snyder for hosting this fun Blog Hop all these weeks. It was a real pleasure getting to know you and the other participants. Best of luck to you all in your writing endeavors!

You can also follow me on Twitter and Google+

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Writing is a Dream

  1. Great to meet you Leanne,
    I am not a fiction writer so can’t understand how you get all those characters going around in your head. I would never sleep. Blessings in all your writing,
    Janis

    • Thanks for stopping by Janis. This blog hop has really opened my eyes to all the different types of writers blogging today. It was a treat getting to meet you too!

  2. i agree with you on getting good ideas when i’m not writing. i think chores are a way for me to go somewhere else. 🙂 good luck with your writing.

    • Some of my best “writing” happens when I’m doing the dishes or riding in the car to work. So, I couldn’t agree more about going somewhere else.

  3. Leanne,
    Thanks for participating in the blog hop. It’s been fun getting to know you and the other writers.

    I’m glad your dreams are coming true. Best wishes in your writing endeavors 🙂

  4. The story sounds wonderful, Leanne! Would love to read it when it comes out! 🙂

    In my own experience… I love getting inspiration, but when I have too many “plotbunnies” hopping at the same time, that’s when it gets rather maddening for me. lol

    • Thanks Dawna.

      You know, I think you’re right about those ‘plotbunnies.’ I just had a new idea this morning and I think it may make me crazy. HA!

  5. Too often I have the best ideas while I’m working on something else. Then, by the time I’m finished with the current WIP, the idea doesn’t sound so good anymore. Maybe I should just start writing three books at once!

  6. I LOVE story dreams. Nothing like them. I’ve got about 15 of them sitting in a folder, waiting for “one day.” Enjoy your story, because once you jump into publishing it all becomes about business rather than art. Well, not all, but mostly.

  7. That’s funny you posted this in the same week my blog featured dreams! 🙂 I’m glad I found your blog and look forward to seeing what you’re doing. 😀

  8. I also have a dream book, but I keep it in my office, only writing down if the dream sparks something so important in my brain that I can’t forget it.

    • Some of them just don’t get turned off in the brain, do they? Those are the ones that follow me around like a lost puppy.

      Strange enough though, when I flip through my dream notebook I discover ones that I would have forgotten all about if I hadn’t jotted them down. They can have interesting aspects that fit somewhere else.

  9. I love fantasy worlds and yours sounds very exciting. I have just finished my first venture into YA and really enjoy the character coming of age aspect of the stories of that genre.

  10. Dreams are an immersion into the collective unconsciousness and yes, there’s a LOT of drivel in there, but just like the miners, you shake the collecting pan until you find gold! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.