My A to Z of Pride and Prejudice – Letter F

A2Z-Pride-and-PrejudiceThe April A to Z Blogging Challenge  is a month long event where I, and more than 2000 other bloggers, will post every day of the month (except Sundays) using a different letter of the alphabet. The theme of my posts will be “What I Love About Pride and Prejudice.” Click the link above or the A to Z badge in my sidebar to visit other participants.

 

FF is for First Impressions

“And your defect is to hate everybody.”

“And yours,” he replied with a smile, “is willfully to misunderstand them.” – Jane Austen Pride & Prejudice

It may come as no surprise to you that earlier drafts of the book we now know as Pride and Prejudice were called First Impressions.  The story is all about the perceptions founded in the beginning of the acquaintance of Fitzwilliam Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet and how these “first impressions” hold off the romance that later develops.

first-impressionsAt their very first encounter, even before they were introduced, Darcy insults Elizabeth by calling her looks “tolerable.” Now, Elizabeth was eavesdropping on his conversation with Mr. Bingley and it appears he had no idea she could hear them, but no matter.  He wounded her ego. This colors her view of him for the greater part of the story.

This instant dislike of Darcy makes it easy to find fault in everything he does. It also allows Elizabeth to easily be swayed by George Wickham in his aversion of the man. Her fire of dislike for Mr. Darcy is easily fueled.

Even after he starts to change his mind on his feelings for her, Elizabeth holds true to her grudge. It is only after the disaster of a first proposal that both she and Darcy start to loosen the prejudice they have for each other.

In a way I’m like Elizabeth.  It’s not that I’m always clever or witty (sometimes, maybe). What I’m getting at is that I can be fairly biased. Especially when it comes to the romantic story lines I want to read. My preference is for there to be some misunderstanding or circumstances that keeps the two people apart.

Tension.  That is my favorite thing about Pride and Prejudice. That tension is what has kept readers for two centuries awake all night turning the pages. If it’s weren’t there, the story would be flat.

Like Mr. Darcy, “my good opinion once lost is lost for ever.” If the writer makes the romance to easy, I lose interest and will move on to the next book. Luckily, Jane Austen always delivers on that front.

It would be splendid for you to follow me on Twitter and Google+

Categories: Book Recommendations, Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “My A to Z of Pride and Prejudice – Letter F

  1. Hi – excellent choice for A to Z theme. P&P is such a timeless romance, and so elegant in its verbiage! Your posts have been well-written, analyzed and are bringing so much of the story back to me.

    • Thank you Sammy. It has been my pleasure to jump back into Pride & Prejudice. I’m just glad I can share my feelings with others.

  2. Great post, of all the first impressions written about, P&P’s is definitely memorable 😀

  3. I think one of the reasons I love P&P so much is that my relationship with my current beau started with a bunch of misunderstandings and unfolded a bit like the story. Love is better when you have to work for it.

  4. I like that it was originally supposed to called First Impressions. That’s pretty.

  5. I have always agreed with Darcy, my good opinion once lost is lost forever. I love P&P because Elizabeth was able to get over her first impressions…I wouldn’t have been able to do that. I’ve always admired her for that.

    • It is so easy to hold a grudge. I have a sister who is notorious at this. Once I asked her how she would feel about a guy today if, in third grade, he pulled her pigtail.

      Without even skipping a beat she said, “I’d hate him forever.”

      Elizabeth is an enigma.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.