My A to Z of Pride and Prejudice – Letter V

Pride-and-Prejudice_LOVEThe April A to Z Blogging Challenge is where a few thousand bloggers post every day of the month (except Sundays) using a different letter of the alphabet. My theme is:  “What I Love About Pride and Prejudice.”V

V is for Vogue

 “Look here, I have bought this bonnet. I do not think it is very pretty; but I thought I might as well buy it as not. I shall pull it to pieces as soon as I get home, and see if I can make it up any better.” –Jane Austen Pride & Prejudice

fashion2

Who wears it best? What was vogue in the 1800s.

I am sorry to admit it, for I wouldn’t want to wear those clothes, but I love the fashion or ‘vogue’ of the Regency period. The men with their cravats and the empire waists on the ladies’ dresses set my heart to flutter. Just thinking about it makes me want to pull out my DVDs and watch Elizabeth fall in love with Mr. Darcy all over again.

The special thing about the clothes for the gentry is that they look so noble. I know the women are wearing corsets that force them into uncomfortable positions. It certainly isn’t fair. At the same time the men must be sweltering in jackets and top hats during the summer months. Nonetheless, the look is elegant. There is a certain “class” to the upper class of that period.

Again, I don’t want to go back to that time period. I just have an appreciation for well made bonnets and hessian boots. It is enough for me to watch period productions like Pride & Prejudice. I wouldn’t want to live them.

For a detailed explanation of the clothes during the Regency Period, please see Candice Hern’s website. She does a much better job explaining the clothing than I ever could. Why re-invent the wheel?

Let me know what YOU think.

Find me on Twitter,   Google+ and through Email!

Categories: Book Recommendations, Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “My A to Z of Pride and Prejudice – Letter V

  1. I think the fashion of that time was so elegant and lovely 🙂 Great post!

  2. I love the empire waists and the mens jackets. I have to say the mens pants of that time are a little funny. Austenland made fun of them quite hilariously.

  3. I am a huge fan of fashion and even create my own designs, so this was an enjoyable post for me. I do love Regency fashion for women. 😀

    • That’s so cool that you design your own clothes. I wish I had the time for something like that.

      When it comes to Regency fashion, it’s better to ‘look at it than to live in it’ I’m afraid.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.