My A to Z of Pride and Prejudice – Letter Z

Pride-and-Prejudice_LOVE I can’t believe this month is coming to a close. The 2014 April A to Z Challenge was one crazy ride. My theme, “What I Love About Pride and Prejudice,” kept me busy. It was the “good” sort of busy though…full of focus and inspiration. I want to thank all of you who have read and/or commented on my posts throughout the month. It’s been a delight!

Long May Pride & Prejudice Be Read!

 

ZZ is for Zombies

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book!” ― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

I wonder how many of you who’ve stuck with me over the course of the month knew that I was going to use Zombies for my Z word. When I decided that Pride & Prejudice was going to be my theme, I had very little trouble sorting out the words I would use for each post. I guess I could have chosen terms like Zeal or Zest to mark the end. Either of those words might be used to describe the characters, setting, or plot of the story, but they just wouldn’t wrap up the alphabet for me like Zombies does.

pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith

If you are a fan of Pride & Prejudice, you’ve likely heard of the book Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. The book is a lighthearted parody of the original story with the added bonus of zombies thrown into the mix. Now, I’m not recommending the book (unless you are into the bloody mess that seems to follow the walking dead). I wanted to use it to point out that Pride & Prejudice and all of Jane Austen’s stories are still going strong. There is a whole world of adaptations all centered on the work of our dear Jane. I’ve read a lot of it. There are continuations, re-tellings, a mystery series, websites full of fan fiction and hours of video. My favorites are the ones that follow the same formula Jane Austen set in place. That’s because, if you’ve read my posts you know, the best parts of the story for me are the misunderstandings that get in the way of the romance. There isn’t so much of that once Elizabeth and Darcy say I do.

Austenland

Austenland by Shannon Hale

Of all the adaptations out there that I enjoy, there are ones that I love. As reading material, I’m going to recommend Austenland by Shannon Hale. This is the story of a modern day Pride & Prejudice fan who watches the DVD with Colin Firth on a loop (hmmm…sounds familiar). She’s given a vacation at a Jane Austen themed resort and begins her search for her own Mr. Darcy. It was made into a good movie, but the book is wonderful. I have it permanently on my bedside table for light reading whenever I’m in need of a good laugh and a swoon.

Lost in Austen

BBC’s Lost in Austen

In the medium of videos, I’m going to suggest the BBC’s miniseries Lost In Austen. This one is about a Pride & Prejudice fan who reads the book almost every night. When Elizabeth Bennet appears in her bathroom (shocking), they switch places. The girl works to keep the story moving along while she tries to get back home. There are some hilarious revelations plus a delightful wet shirt scene with Mr. Darcy that makes this my favorite Pride & Prejudice video after the 1995 BBC version (Sorry Colin Firth, Elliot Cowan is my favorite Mr. Darcy).

Since both of these recommendations have the lead living the fantasy of Pride & Prejudice, you might think I’d wish to do the same. That’s not true. I already have the man I love. Besides, who would want to wear a corset? Ugh. I just love a good love story and I always will.

Thank you Miss Austen.

I hope you’ll follow me on Twitter,   Google+ and through Email!

Categories: Book Recommendations, Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “My A to Z of Pride and Prejudice – Letter Z

  1. Hahaha. I wondered what you would do for Z. I have not yet read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I want to. Austenland and Lost in Austen are awesome. I need to read more of the books that take off on Jane’s stories. I wrote my own (Pot and Prejudice) that I am querying now and have even been working on a sequel, basically a break-up misunderstanding. They are so fun to write. I’ll miss your daily posts, but will keep on visiting!

    • Oh! I would love to read Pot and Prejudice (am wondering about the Pot reference…as in “drugs” or “calling the kettle?”). I think I saw something on your Google+ about you writing a YA based on P & P. I hope that’s it.

      Thanks for hanging out with me this month. It was so much fun and I’m glad to get to know you.

      • Feel free to email me (shell0flower at gmail) if you really want to read my Pot and Prejudice book, let me know. And yeah, it’s about a girl with pot-growing parents who get busted. It has the basic misunderstanding Darcy/Wickham plot, but I did take some liberties with the rest.

  2. I absolutely loved your series and yours was definitely one of my favorites! I am still a diehard Persuasion fan, but P&P has probably now moved up a notch…right above Mansfield Park (I still have to keep Northanger as my second) thanks to your posts!

    I’m a big fan of Austen fiction as well. I tried to read Pride & Prejudice and Zombies, but I just couldn’t get past the beginning of it. But I loved Austenland (the book, NOT the movie) and I think I may have mentioned how much I love Lost In Austen. I have dozens of different variations of the books (I tend to prefer the modern retellings versus the sequels), but I do also love the Amanda Grange diary series (although I haven’t read them all).

    Thanks again for your amazing posts!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. It really means the world to me that you enjoyed the trip down Pride & Prejudice Lane as much as I did.

      The modern re-tellings are my favorite as well. I could NEVER presume to write as well as Miss Austen and especially not in her own voice. Plus, I don’t need to know what happened next. That’s why I tend to shy away from the sequels.

      It sounds like we’re on the same page when it comes to our Austen adaptations. But, my ranking of her books is different from yours:

      1. Pride & Prejudice
      2. Persuasion (LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it)
      3. Sense & Sensibility
      4. Northanger Abbey
      5. Emma
      6. Mansfield Park

  3. This is a PERFECT way to wrap up the month! I’ve really enjoyed following this. I can’t remember if I mentioned this on your blog but the YouTube series Lizzie Bennet Diaries is actually one of my favorite modern day retellings of Pride and Prejudice.http://www.youtube.com/user/LizzieBennet

    But of course nothing will ever come close to the original…. Ah, Jane… why couldn’t you be immortal?

    • Thanks Summer. I thought branching out into the adaptations was a good way to close the book on this challenge. I’m glad you enjoyed following along with me and that you get my sense of humor.

      I am a recent convert to the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. They were a great way to introduce my DD to the story. I love the Greene brothers (producers) and all the videos they do.

      Also, thanks for the Liebster Award. I’m am right touched by the honor. I read your blog post about it before I got your tweet and was shocked to see Read Faced on your list (I had to click the link to make sure it was ME). I’ll rest up from all this constant blogging and then get on the questions you asked. I won’t even hold it against you that you chose the Brontës over my dear Jane. HA!

      • Oh I’m glad you’re pleased with the Lienster! That’s exactly what happened to me when I saw my name on the list of the blog who nominated me! : ) I think it’s a wonderful way to let people (especially new bloggers) know that you appreciate their work. I’m excited to see your answers, but no rush! You’ve certainly kept us entertained every day this month, so you deserve a break. : )

  4. Ha! Ha! Ha! What a perefct way to end your series! You should be very proud of the sum total of the work you posted during this challenge. Each post was superb and, taken together, they give a very detailed account of a book that you care for so very much. Thanks for taking the time to provide such professional enlightenment. Congratulations on completing the challenge.

    • Somewhat ironic that I spelled “perfect” incorrectly in the above comment. Oooops! 🙂

      • Tom, I really appreciate your message (even with the ‘purrfect’ error…ha). The whole challenge of blogging daily meant a bunch of sacrifices (ask my family and my WIP), but when I came up with the idea that I could compose 26 love letters to Pride & Prejudice, I knew I could do it. Thanks for coming along with me!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.