IWSG and April A to Z Posts, post April

A2Z-Pride-and-Prejudice_REF

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Today’s post is going to serve as my contribution for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group and my 2014 April A to Z Blog Challenge Reflections. These are both blog hops that encourage sharing the love. I hope you’ll follow the links above after you read my post.

The ISWG is a wonderful group of writers who, like me, from time to time need a little encouragement in the crazy, mixed-up world of writing. We post our insecurities or triumphs on the first Wednesday of each month. The blog hop is hosted by Alex J. Cavanaugh and his band of merry co-hosts ( Mark Koopmans, Joylene Nowell Butler, Elsie, and Lisa Buie-Collard!). Please give them a visit and a word of thanks (THANK YOU!).

The April A to Z Blog Challenge asks those who sign-up to post daily (except Sundays) throughout the month of April. One letter for each day. The reflections come AFTER April, when we look back at the success or struggles we had during the month.

I think these two blog hops work well together (rationalizing the combined post)…plus it doesn’t hurt that there are a ton of bloggers who are active on both lists.

 

I’m not going to lie to you. April was difficult. I had my A to Z theme (What I LOVE about Pride & Prejudice) mapped out before the month began, but that doesn’t mean I really knew where I was going. It was a daily dash to get a blog post ready for the next day. I read, researched and dug up/created images for each letter. I think I walked around in a Mr. Darcy daze half the time.

As hard as it was, I also loved it.

  1. Not only did I get some new followers (thank you folks…you know who you are), but I also made some new friends. It’s amazing how many people love Jane Austen and her most famous piece of writing (I wonder if she were alive today, would she join ISWG?….hmmm).
  2. I also learned SO MUCH. I knew the story of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy really spoke to me, but going over it with a fine tooth comb made me appreciate it even more (glad it wasn’t for a class…I never HAD to read P & P in school. I discovered it on my own as an adult).
  3. The A to Z Challenge reminded me that I can do anything day in and day out…simply because I wanted to do it. Writing 26 coherent (I hope, at least) blog posts on a beloved piece of literature will do that for you. I didn’t even care if no one read the posts (well, I care a little). This theme was for me.
  4. I also have this overwhelming appreciation for the coordinators of the A to Z challenge and all the teams who worked tirelessly visiting everyone on the list. It was a real undertaking and I want to say THANK YOU. We could never have pulled off such a feat without you.

 

As for my own novel I was writing before April began, it is exactly where I left it. The last saved file on my computer is dated March 30, 2014. There was just no energy left after working all day and posting all evening to get anything else done (I barely did laundry). This is why I usually only blog once or twice a week. The REASON I write a blog starts to slip away when I DO write a blog. I just need to find a balance.

 

If you didn’t catch my A to Z blogs on Pride & Prejudice, I hope you’ll take a look. I have them linked below.

 

You can also follow me on Twitter,   Google+ and through Email!

Categories: Book Recommendations, Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “IWSG and April A to Z Posts, post April

  1. As you know, I absolutely adored your A-Z posts and also learned a ton about Pride and Prejudice, even though I have read it several times and watched some of the movies so many times I shan’t admit it 🙂 It was great getting to know you, too. I know what you mean about A-Z taking time away from writing. That’s why I didn’t do it this year and I ended up writing a TON in April. Life is a tradeoff, I guess.

    • Thank you Shell. It was a fun month, but I can’t say I’m not glad it’s over. Now it’s time to get back to work on my own writing and not on Jane Austen’s. HA!

      I’m so glad we’ve connected through these posts!

  2. Who wouldn’t want to be in a Mr. Darcy haze half the time? 🙂 Aherm, I digress … Congrats finishing A-Z. That really takes a lot of hard work and commitment!

    • HA! I was just over at your blog commenting. We must have crossed each other on the internet like a couple of ships in the dark.

      Thanks for the kudos! It WAS a lot of hard work and commitment…but worth it.

  3. I have to come back and read your A-Z challenge. I love Pride & Prejudice. It sounds like a fabulous theme for the challenge.

  4. I loved your posts and am excited to continue to read your blog!

  5. Loni Townsend

    It’s impressive that you dashed through all those posts. You presented it well enough that I thought everything had been written in advance. Good luck with getting back with your WIP (and your laundry).

    • I appreciate that Loni. You were great to participate in the conversations along the way as well.

      I did know what I was going to write, since I’m so familiar with Pride & Prejudice. The quotes and the extra tidbits are what took some research.

      It’s so good to be back with my own writing, but I’d still rather put off the laundry.

  6. You proved you had the discipline to do it! Glad you had a good time and made some new friends.
    Now we can both get back to our manuscripts…

    • It did take discipline, as you well know! Glad I did. Glad it’s done. And…glad we can ALL get back to the writing we REALLY want to do.

  7. Congrats on completing the challenge!! Yay for new followers 🙂

  8. Congratulations Leanne on completing the A-Z Challenge! Of course, I had absolutely no doubt that you would complete it. 🙂 I had way too much going on, so I couldn’t participate this year. If all goes well, maybe I’ll give it a shot next year. If you are doing NaNo again this November though, let me know. I might do that again… {{Hugs}} Eva

    • Right now I’m swearing off ANY and ALL lengthy challenges! But, who am I kidding? I’ll probably be itching to take on NaNo come November. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. LOL! That last one had me giggling. Regrettably I didn’t make it here as much as I wanted to during the challenge, but I loved your theme. If there were peice to analyze to pieces, yes, please choose P&P. Oh, and here’s to picking up on our WIP’s where we left off, eh?

    • Ah yes, the dusty WIP. It was missing me the whole month.

      Thanks for stopping by when you could Crystal. I loved your theme about heroes as well!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.