Adults Should Be Embarrassed To Eat Applesauce (or Read YA)?

(Read below to hear me compare Rainbow Rowell & John Green’s YA writing to applesauce – OR – my take on the recent article that told adults to feel shame for reading YA – Thanks, Leanne)

ForAS

“Eat whatever you want. But you should feel embarrassed when what you’re eating was made for children.”

(quote from the article in question – sort of)

 

In an “article” that came out last week, the author made it clear that she has put away childish things. Applesauce, that deliciously satisfying and quick to devour food, just isn’t how adults are supposed to be eating apples. According to her, we should only be biting into the thick skin of the mature apple and chewing the delicate intricacies that could never be found in the pleasurable applesauce. Grown-up teeth can do better than eat applesauce.

Well, I disagree. Applesauce might be meant for the young, but why should we feel bad if we indulge now and again? Or even every day?

rainbow-cups2_Applesauce is delicious.  Just like regular apples, it comes in many varieties from the super sweet to the down-right savory. You can get it in huge containers and even in quick to enjoy packets that fit easily in a backpack or purse. Plus, applesauce is chuck full of good things for everyone, young and old alike.

as-pouchesGranted…applesauce is not the same as eating an apple. The peeling alone counts for more fiber and bulk than you get in applesauce, but who is saying WE CAN’T FEEL GOOD ABOUT ENJOYING BOTH (besides the article)? I’ve been doing just that for a very long time and any pleasure I’ve gotten out of eating applesauce has never taken away from my pleasure at eating a whole apple.

green-jarThe thing that burns me the most is that the author picked apart some really amazing brands of applesauce (The ones created by Rainbow and Green are a couple of my favorites). Some varieties more closely resemble the realistic essence of the apple, but if you want to eat applesauce with different amounts of spices…go for it. Don’t let anyone tell you that you shouldn’t.

I’m working on perfecting my own applesauce. Every day I try to stir up some magic that will make my variety stand out amongst the others. It’s my applesauce. I’m proud that I create it and proud that I enjoy it.

I guess what I’m really saying is that telling adults that they shouldn’t feel good about eating applesauce is as ridiculous as telling them that they should be embarrassed about reading Young Adult books.

 

Now THAT would have me laughing my head off.

If you must, you can read the article here.
I-Eat-AS

Share the Applesauce LOVE

 

Follow me on Twitter, Pinterest,  Google+, Tumblr, & through Email!

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Adults Should Be Embarrassed To Eat Applesauce (or Read YA)?

  1. Love the comparison! Although I must admit I’m more embarrassed eating what is deemed children’s food than reading YA. Of course, that doesn’t stop me from eating applesauce and Lunchables and Cheerios and the like.

  2. Well. Obviously, she has never had my homemade apple sauce. : )

  3. Loni Townsend

    She must not have kids.
    >_>
    <_<
    Waste not, want not… right?

  4. To heck with them. Put some applesauce on a pork chop and see who the smartest snacker is. wha-ha-ha

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

  5. What adults shouldn’t do is tell other adults what they shouldn’t read – or eat! How absurd. Children love bananas, too – I guess I should avoid them. And if anyone tries taking Winnie-the-Pooh away from me they’re in for a fight.

    Now I want applesauce.

    • OH…Do Not Even Get Me Started on Winnie-the-Pooh. I’m team Edward Bear all the way.

      I knew I had you pegged right when I stumbled upon your blog.

      Welcome (and just to warn you…I love to write my books in first person).

      NOW I want applesauce.

      • Heh – I have learned to love first person!

        Now I want a t-shirt that says “Team Edward (Bear)…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.