Bailing Water

WIPpaperboat4Last month I discussed how I was lured away from my finished first draft by a shiny new writing idea. This one was just going to write itself. All I needed to do was show up.

Well I did show up.

It didn’t write itself.

Since my last post about it, I’ve been struggling with the forward motion on that project. My thoughts kept returning to the series I put on hold.

After a long talk with my daughter (she is wise beyond her years), I came to the conclusion that I’ve been procrastinating the rewrites.  It’s no good having half-finished messes everywhere. I always expect her to finish what she’s started. It’s time I took that advice for myself.

So I chucked my fear of what was going to be in that rough draft and I started reading it.

You know what? The story is good.

Of course there are some holes in the plot that are letting in water, but I’m a strong bailer. I’m even excited about the work. I have faith that I can keep this story afloat.

Wish me luck!

Leanne


InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Click image to visit the IWSG!

This post is part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG) blog hop where writers work to support and encourage each other on the first Wednesday of each month.

This month the IWSG is being hosted by the founder Alex J. Cavanaugh  along with Krista McLaughlin, Kim Van Sickler, Heather Gardner, and Hart Johnson!

I hope you’ll visit them!

Please follow me on Twitter, Pinterest,  Google+, Tumblr, & through Email!

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Bailing Water

  1. I can relate to this on so many levels 🙂

    • Right? It’s that whole thing about the grass looking greener somewhere else. Well, the grass is brown all over the place.

  2. Maybe you just needed to give your finished manuscript a little rest, as many writing teachers suggest, before editing. The shiny new idea kept you diverted at least long enough to give you some space from your story and now you can look at it with fresh eyes. Also, it’s always good to have another story to work on when you get tired of editing, so you’re good there too. Enjoy polishing that story up!

    • Thanks Shell. I haven’t been spending four months procrastinating out of fear. I have been putting distance between me and my story so I can be fresh for what lies ahead.

      You are a great spinner.

  3. Hi Leanne, it’s funny I’ve done exactly the same thing recently. I’m editing my second novel, having recently just edited the first, and have become a bit edit-weary. So after the first read-through of Book Two I started to procrastinate. Your advice of ‘Finish what you start’ is great and I’ll definitely remember that!

    • Most of the time I think I’m writing in a vacuum. I feel like no one else is struggling the way I am. The truth is that everywhere I turn I find others who are walking the same road I am (and I mean exact). That’s the beauty of IWSG. Once a month we can put it out there and find those people who know exactly what we are going through.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Loni Townsend

    At least you like what you read. That’s good, right? Best of luck!

    Loni

    • Oh Loni, I’m thrilled with what I wrote. It is a pretty good first draft (not bragging, just happy). I’m looking forward to seeing where I get with it.

  5. Good luck, but from the sounds of things you don’t need it. 🙂

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

  6. Oh, I need it. Who knows what doubts are lurking in my mind that have yet to surface. Thanks Anna!

  7. First drafts are usually not as bad as we think. Glad you are excited about the project again.

    • Thanks Alex. I’m now finished with my read through and have a bunch of ideas. It looks like it going to be hard, but exciting.

  8. Glad to hear you’re excited about this project again. It’s always a great thing to read back something we’ve put away and realize it’s not that bad. Good luck with the rewrites!

  9. Thanks Caffe. I need to luck.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.