Is It Already November?

InsecureWritersSupportGroupThis post is part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG) blog hop where writers work to support and encourage each other on the first Wednesday of each month. You can click the image on the right or link above to find more musings from other writers.

The group was founded and is led by our captain, Alex J. Cavanaugh and his  comrades in arms. This month they are: LG Keltner, Donna Hole, Lisa Buie-Collard and SL Hennessy!


In my last IWSG post I was bemoaning the fact that I was in for a l-o-n-g month. My husband and I had to move our business by Halloween. The fear I faced was that October was going to kill me.

Well, I just looked up from the frenzy of packing and hauling boxes to realize we are already five days into November. Every part of my body hurts. There is a constant ache in my lower back. My hands are shredded. Falling asleep takes ages because the pain in my legs mocks me. October was the death march I feared it would be, but I survived.

I also said in last month’s post that I was going to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) unless I was dead. Again, I’m not dead. It only seems that way.

Like NaNoWriMo, I’ve just been through a thirty (-one) day marathon to accomplish something HUGE. I was a participant in LoMoBusMo (Local Move Business Month). Unfortunately, there is no winner’s certificate for that accomplishment.

Now I’m debating with myself about whether or not I should go for NaNoWriMo. I haven’t been able to plan a bit and I am NO PANTSER. Plus, I am already five days late crossing the starting line. The perfectionist in me doesn’t like to start something I don’t know I can finish. And blah, blah, blah…more excuses.

The truth is that I love NaNoWriMo. It is a kick in the rear sort of camaraderie that shakes the words right out of me. My writing is freer than it’s ever been. There’s no editing and no self doubt. I just go for it. Plus, last year I finished the 50K by November 23.

I know I can do this. I just need to decide to do it.

So, who out there is facing the NaNoWriMo challenge? Add me as a buddy (Read Faced). I’ll add you right back. Encouragement would be much appreciated.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

I’m also on Twitter, Pinterest,  Google+, Tumblr, & through Email!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Is It Already November?

  1. No NaNo for me; but I’m hoping to complete a couple short stories and get them to my critique group. I’m more into editing and reading for pleasure at this time. Good luck with your project.

    • Thanks. I’m going to need the luck. I am always into reading for pleasure, but any editing with have to wait until December.

  2. Loni Townsend

    Keep up the good work with NaNo! You’re up to 14K, that’s pretty good. I hope your body heals up quickly from the move.

    • Thanks Loni! Since my first day committed to NaNo (Nov. 6) I have averaged 2,000 words a day. If I keep that pace I will be golden come the 30th.

      As for my weary body, it is bouncing back. I won’t be flipping any cartwheels any time soon but that is mainly because I have never learned how.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.