NaNoWriMo 2014 Update: Day 22

Participant-2014-Square-ButtonIt really is the end of November 22.

There are only eight more days to finish our NaNo novels.

Whether or not we participants  (as a collective) accomplish that, I think it is great that so many people are making the attempt.  It makes the world a bit smaller when you think about it.

Tonight I want to tell you about the story I am writing.

It is the third and final installment in a Young Adult Adventure Fantasy series. The first book is technically in its third draft. I have the story all sorted and now I get to work on fleshing it out some more.

The second book I wrote last year during NaNoWriMo. It was easy to write because I was so involved in the first one. I knew exactly where the story was heading. Since I am still in edits on the first book, this one (book two) has sat on my hard drive all year-long.

The third book picks up a few years after the first two. The characters have grown up and are in different places in their lives. Circumstances that started in the first two stories draw them back together.

I am having a harder time with this one than I did with the second. It isn’t that I don’t know where I am heading. I had the series mapped out from the very beginning. My problem, I think, lies in not being as familiar with the second story as I should have been. I mean, I wrote the blasted thing…I should know what happens.

The funny thing is that I spent a good amount of time today re-reading the second story. That is something I wish I could have done in October.

Now I feel like I haven’t been true to my main character in this third novel. I also spent time today taking notes on changes I will make in the third novel after the month is over. This worked to limit my word count, but I think in the end I will be happier with my story.

Good luck all you NaNoWriMoers as we head into the final push!

 

See ya tomorrow,

Leanne Ross aka Read Faced  (daily word count: 1,430 / overall word count: 26,979.)

 

I hope you will follow me on Twitter, Pinterest,  Google+, Tumblr, & through Email!

 

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.