IWSG and Now That NaNoWriMo is No More

InsecureWritersSupportGroupThis post is part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (IWSG) blog hop where writers work to support and encourage each other on the first Wednesday of each month. You can click the image or link above to find more musings from other writers.

The group was founded and is led by our captain, Alex J. Cavanaugh and his  comrades in arms. This month they are: Heather Gardner, T. Drecker from Kidbits, Eva E. Solar at Lilicasplace, and Patsy Collins!


After the October I had, November and NaNoWriMo should have been easy as falling over.

Well, I fell over plenty and it wasn’t easy.

I started the novel-writing challenge six days late. First stumble. Then my usual wake up at 4:30 am to write was not happening. Most mornings I hit snooze until 7:30 and wondered where all my time went. Major trip ups. There were even a couple of days I didn’t write a single word. Picture full-blown face plant.

I considered calling it quits. My story could wait until the New Year to be muddled through. It was going to be okay. So, I stopped being hard on myself.

Somewhere in the midst of all those days I was introduced to the wonderful idea of sprinting. In just 15 short minutes I could accomplish what I wasn’t getting done in an hour. Little quarter-hour blocks of time became my best friend. I could write 500 words while waiting for water to boil. 500 more when my daughter showered. Another 500 as I waited on hold for a representative. Before I knew it, I had written my required 2,000+ words a day in the little times that I thought were wasted. Who needs to carve out huge chunks of time? Sprinting is the way to get through a first draft.

Oh, there were still days I accomplished nothing other than my regular life, but I knew I could get through it. My last big push was on Saturday, November 29. I sprinted and then I wrote in long blocks of time. My family was ignored and no dinner was  prepared. I am happy to say I finished the challenge on that evening.

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

Of course the story isn’t finished. 50K just got me past the murky middle. But I did what I wanted to do: Complete the NaNoWriMo Challenge. That was good enough for a November.

So, how did everyone else do this month? If you competed in NaNoWriMo did you accomplish what you wanted? I would love to hear how you did.

Find me on Twitter, Pinterest,  Google+, Tumblr, & through Email!

Categories: Thoughts, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “IWSG and Now That NaNoWriMo is No More

  1. Loni Townsend

    Grats on winning! YOU DID IT! Life got thrown by the wayside for me, but I managed through NaNoWriMo successfully. 🙂

    • I agree about how life gets thrown to the wayside. It’s just hard to balance NaNo with anything else. The scale is always weighted on the Novel writing side in November. Congrats on your success!

  2. First of all, Yay You. I hope you saw me cheering you on near the end. 🙂

    Secondly, I think you could be a main character in a story. All the nasty stumbling blocks you had to over come and you still managed to make it. I’m very proud of you. 🙂

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    • HaHaHaHa! I FEEL like a MC sometimes…just hoping for that happy ending.

      Thanks for the cheers and the congrats. WE DID GOOD!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.